Aside

The Quarter Life Crisis; The Latest Plague Of The 21st Century

“a period of anxiety, uncertainty and inner turmoil that often accompanies the transition to adulthood.”

      -http://www.quarterlifecrisis.com

It seems now more than ever we rush into college determined not to be left behind in this crazy fast paced world. New degrees are popping up almost as fast as they are becoming obsolete.

And for us (millennials) who grew up with the false expectation that college would be the best years of our lives we are faced with a harsh reality check when we graduate. Those jobs we were promised, they don’t exist. Instead, we find ourselves lost in the  experience paradox.

At 20 I will admit I am facing the infamous quarter life crisis about five years early mind you. What can I say, I tend to do things on my own time line.

I myself could barely wait to finish college, but when I was all said and done, crisp new diploma in my hands I had a sudden realization; I had just gone to school for two years and spent a fortune on a career I was no longer interested in pursuing.

For the first time in my life I was torn between dreams and responsibility. I had student loans, a car loan and rent all bearing down on me. And the only source of income I had was an abysmal excuse of a job in retail.

Then I experienced a moment of clarity. It hit me that me I was just gliding through life, settling for some mindless job, I let my procrastination and my inability to make life decisions get in the way. I had lost sight of my quality life, I was so focused on the job that I hadn’t even stopped to think about all the other aspects of my life.

Life is all about choices, and the ones you make right now are the most important. You can plan for your future. You can plan every single little detail, but the reality is you have no idea where you will be tomorrow, or five years from now. One singular event may permanently alter you and throw you down a path you least expected. So while we must all learn to relinquish our control of the unknown, we must learn to embrace the moment, because thats the only thing you can control.

Realize that you are where you need to be:

For awhile I struggled, desperately treading water as I tried to support myself after I graduated. I eventually called my parents in tears, completely ashamed in what I had to ask:

“Can I come home?”

I have never been very good at asking for help. I am stubbornly independent to a fault. At the time it felt like this question was my way of admitting defeat, that I had failed to make it by myself in the adult world. What I realized is that I needed time to heal and reset and that it was okay to ask for help. There is no shame in admitting you need help.

Learn to be happy with where you are now:

You will be miserable your entire life if you are always looking for the next best thing. I may not enjoy my job, but it allows me to be live in this beautiful rain forest, and pursue a career as an artist and writer. That being said I don’t believe you should ever settle, you should always pursue your dreams, just don’t let them be the only deciding factor of your happiness.

Don’t take the easy way out:

Don’t let distractions get the best of you.  Now more than ever we have movies, games and a number of other distractions constantly at our fingertips, following us wherever we go. It is so easy to fall for the quick gratification of defeating a new level of Plants vs. Zombies than doing something hard that may not have the same instant gratification. Pair that with the fear of not succeeding and it’s a wonder anybody gets anything done these days!

Do something everyday:

No matter how big or small your goal is, knowing that everyday you are taking one step closer to reaching it makes a huge difference.

So get going! Start Pursuing your dreams!

Leave a Reply

