Underestimating The Power Of A Clean Space

I used to believe that I thrived in clutter​. In fact, every time I did take the time to clean/organize I inevitably lost at least five items in the process.

However, having grown up quite a bit since then,​ I am now coming to realize that I was completely wrong. I was really just making excuses for being lazy. I admit​,​ I’m not perfect. I still slowly fall back into the same habits of not putting things away and before long I am lost in the clutter once more.

Finding the perfect system is a hard and imperfect process, especially when you’re working with a small space and not a lot of furniture. 

I think part of my problem was I never really understood cleaning. Now I know this sounds strange but hear me out. As a child when asked to clean my room I would meticulously rearrange all my stuffed animals and toys so that they were sitting neatly in a row. I thought it was okay to not put my toys away as long as they were displayed cleanly. 

As with everything in life​,​ you have to find a balance. My process will always lean towards to the aesthetic side, but I have learned not to undervalue functionality. If anything, it has become a fun and creative challenge for me to find solutions that are not only functional, but aesthetically pleasing as well.

So what worked for me?

Establish Zones:

Once you have identified zones, it is a lot easier to see what you need and what you don’t. If something doesn’t fit into one of your zones then you don’t need it on your desk.

Purge and Store:

Get rid of the things you don’t need and store what you don’t use every day. This will make your life a lot easier in the long run, I promise. 

Have Fun With It:

When I cleaned up my bathroom​,​ I made fun little pieces that worked for my needs. Now everyday I love putting away my hair elastics in my custom little organizer. If you don’t love it​,​ you’re not going to take care of it. So whether you are redecorating with DIYs or buying new pieces​,​make sure you love them.

I am proud to say that I have now kept my bedroom and bathroom clean and clutter free for a week! To some this may seem laughable, even pathetic​,​but for me it’s a proud accomplishment and makes me even more determined to keep going.

2 thoughts on “Underestimating The Power Of A Clean Space

Leave a Reply

